• Dices with the letters FAQ.
  • Cubes with the letters FAQ to indicate the most frequently asked questions about Portal Systems AG products.

FAQ Portal Systems


These FAQ provide answers to questions that are frequently asked by interested parties and customers. The list does not claim to be complete and is regularly updated and extended.

If your question is not included or the existing answer is not sufficient, please contact us. We always welcome the opportunity for a personal conversation!

FAQ: Shareflex Online Solutions and Services


If you have any questions regarding our solutions for Microsoft 365 and SharePoint Online or would like to learn more about our SaaS model, you will find the answers here!

The platform service description refers to the SaaS service “Shareflex Online”, which, along with Microsoft 365, is the basis for the Shareflex Solutions. The platform service description explains the Shareflex Online Services, describes the aspects of data protection, the data storage location and the release process as well as technical limits and restrictions.

The Shareflex Solutions service description, on the other hand, refers directly to the Shareflex Solutions and their operating model and describes the solution operation.

No, Portal Systems does not permanently store any data, such as contract data, incoming invoice data or any other type of document that companies process with a Shareflex Solution (hereinafter “customer data”). Customer data is only temporarily processed by Shareflex Online within the scope of the application logic.

The client data is always stored in SharePoint Online or the Microsoft 365 client of the customer. When setting up the Microsoft 365 client, the customer must define the data storage location. This means that the client data is always stored where the Microsoft 365 or SharePoint Online data is located.

The Shareflex Online Services are designed to be highly available and modular, so that outages are kept to a minimum. In the unlikely event that all Shareflex Online Services are unavailable, work with the solution is no longer possible.

Access to data in SharePoint Online is always possible

The customer can nevertheless continue to access all their data, since it is stored in SharePoint Online. Access works via standard Microsoft 365 functions such as the SharePoint full-text search, OneDrive for Business or the standard SharePoint. If an individual Shareflex Online service is not available, the range of functions is reduced by the unavailable functions of the respective service.

Portal Systems AG does not back up customer data during solution operation. If a backup of customer data stored in SharePoint Online is necessary, it is the customer’s responsibility to define an appropriate backup or restore concept.

After termination of the SaaS contract with Portal Systems AG, access to the Shareflex Online Services is no longer possible. In this case, the Shareflex solution is no longer operational.

All data remains with the customer

As the customer data is stored in the Microsoft 365 client or in the customer’s SharePoint Online environment, the customer can access this data via standard Microsoft 365 functions even after the end of the contract.

The foundation of the Shareflex Online Solutions are the Microsoft 365 Services and the Shareflex Online Services. Updates are automatically provided for the Microsoft 365 Services and the Shareflex Online Services.

An update of the Shareflex Solution is carried out by uploading and providing the update package. This task is usually carried out by the customer independently or with the help of an integration partner. If an update is required, the customer will be informed at least 30 days in advance. If a required update is not rolled out on time, we can no longer guarantee the functionality of the application.

To ensure high-performance execution, Portal Systems stores part of the configuration data of a Shareflex Solution in a Microsoft Azure SQL database. This concerns, for example, the business application logic that is executed in the background.

The Shareflex Solutions are specific solutions or applications, while the Shareflex Online Services and Microsoft 365 provide the basic services behind them (invisible to the user).

Model of the Shareflex Online Services and Solutions

Graphical representation of the connection between Microsoft 365 and the Shareflex Online Services and Solutions.

Portal Systems AG manages the infrastructure (Infrastructure as a Service) for Shareflex Online hosted in Microsoft Azure data centres. This includes (but is not limited to) configuration data management, high availability, configuration data recovery, security and scaling (see Shareflex Online Services platform service description for details). The Shareflex Online Services hosted on this infrastructure are continuously monitored. In addition, Portal Systems monitors the core functionality of the Shareflex Online Solutions.

In particular, clients need to monitor the customisations in the Shareflex solution and take action in case of performance incidents and unforeseen behaviour. Furthermore, they have to monitor the growth of data and documents as well as the number of users.

Since the Shareflex Solution is provided in the customer’s Microsoft 365 environment, very flexible customisations and individualisations are possible. These are completely separate and independent from other deployments in the same Microsoft 365 environment or other customers.

We offer Shareflex Online for Microsoft SharePoint Online and therefore require a Microsoft 365 plan that includes Microsoft SharePoint Online.

FAQ: Shareflex Classic Solutions


Here you will find answers to frequently asked questions about our on-premises solutions for Microsoft SharePoint 2016 and 2019.

Portal Systems provides Shareflex for Microsoft SharePoint 2016 and 2019 or SharePoint Online and Microsoft Office 365. Accordingly, different scenarios are possible: either “on-premises”, i.e. on the company’s own internal servers, or “online” with a Microsoft 365 plan that includes SharePoint Online.

Shareflex extends your SharePoint infrastructure and makes it more user-friendly and flexible. With our ready2go business applications (Shareflex Solutions) or individual solutions based on the Shareflex Platform, you get extremely secure and efficient tools for the digitalisation of your business processes.

The Shareflex Solutions are our ready2go solutions for contract management, document control and QM and incoming invoice processing. The Shareflex Extensions are extensions and partner solutions for our solutions, such as Outlook integration or PDF generation.

Shareflex turns SharePoint into a platform for business applications

The Shareflex Classic Solutions are based on the Shareflex Platform, the Business Application Platform from Portal Systems. This provides the infrastructure and background processes for the software.

Only through Shareflex does SharePoint become a platform for business applications. This is because Shareflex builds on SharePoint, extends it in a meaningful way and thus maximises user-friendliness.

In order to configure Shareflex and work with our solutions, no explicit programming knowledge is necessary.

No, not necessarily. Own servers are only necessary in the on-premises environment. For the Shareflex Online Solutions we offer a “dedicated” or “shared” service in the cloud.

Of course! Because with Shareflex Online we offer you our own product suite for Microsoft Office 365 and SharePoint Online. From the modern, holistic enterprise content management system Shareflex ECM Online to ready-made solutions, such as our contract management Shareflex Contract Online, to individual company solutions. If you are interested, please contact us!

Provided the appropriate SharePoint infrastructure and hosting model are in place, yes.

In principle, Shareflex can be used to configure all conceivable applications for business processes. We offer you preconfigured solutions for contract management, the administration and control of QM documents as well as incoming invoice processing.

Full flexibility with Shareflex

All these solutions can be easily adapted to your company-specific requirements. And with the help of the Shareflex Platform, the list can be expanded almost at will.

General Topics


Additional questions and answers on the topic of “document-centred business processes”.

ECM stands for Enterprise Content Management. “Enterprise content management encompasses the technologies for capturing, managing, storing, preserving, and delivering content and documents to support organizational processes.” Definition by the international industry association AIIM (Association for Intelligent Information Management).

Employees of Portal Systems AG

Any questions? We will be happy to support you!

 Phone +49 40 226040 12
info@portalsystems.de

The Chilehaus in Hamburg hosts the headquarters of Portal Systems AG

• Würfel mit den Buchstaben FAQ.
  • Würfel mit den Buchstaben FAQ als Hinweis auf die häufigsten Fragen zu den Produkten der Portal Systems AG.

Portal Systems FAQ


In den Portal Systems FAQ beantworten wir die Fragen, die uns Interessenten und Kunden am häufigsten stellen. Die Liste hat keinen Anspruch auf Vollständigkeit, aber wir aktualisieren und erweitern sie regelmäßig. Sollte Ihre Frage dennoch nicht dabei sein oder die vorhandene Antwort nicht ausreichen, sprechen Sie uns einfach an. Wir stehen Ihnen jederzeit gern für ein persönliches Gespräch zur Verfügung!

FAQ: Shareflex Online Solutions und Services


Wenn Sie Antworten zu unseren Lösungen für Microsoft 365 und SharePoint Online suchen oder mehr über unser SaaS-Modell erfahren möchten, dann sind Sie hier richtig!

Die Plattformdienstbeschreibung bezieht sich auf den SaaS-Service „Shareflex Online“, der, neben Microsoft 365, die Basis für die Shareflex Solutions ist. Die Plattformdienstbeschreibung erläutert die Shareflex Online Services, beschreibt die Aspekte des Datenschutzes, den Datenspeicherort und den Release-Prozess sowie technische Grenzen und Beschränkungen.

Die Shareflex-Solutions-Dienstbeschreibung hingegen bezieht sich direkt auf die Shareflex Solutions und deren Betriebsmodell und beschreibt den Lösungsbetrieb.

Nein, die Portal Systems AG speichert keine Daten dauerhaft, wie z. B. Vertragsdaten, Eingangsrechnungsdaten oder auch alle Arten von Dokumenten, die Unternehmen mit einer Shareflex Solution verarbeiten (im Folgenden „Kundendaten“). Die Kundendaten werden lediglich im Rahmen der Anwendungslogik vorübergehend durch Shareflex Online verarbeitet.

Die Kundendaten werden immer in SharePoint Online bzw. im Microsoft-365-Mandanten des Kunden gespeichert. Bei der Einrichtung des Microsoft-365-Mandanten muss der Kunde den Datenspeicherort definieren. D.h., dass die Kundendaten immer dort gespeichert werden, wo die Microsoft-365- bzw. SharePoint-Online-Daten liegen.

Die Shareflex Online Services sind hochverfügbar ausgelegt und modular aufgebaut, so dass Ausfälle auf ein Minimum reduziert werden. Für den unwahrscheinlichen Fall, dass alle Shareflex Online Services nicht verfügbar sind, ist die Arbeit mit der Lösung nicht mehr möglich.

Zugriff auf Daten in SharePoint Online ist immer möglich

Der Kunde kann dennoch weiterhin auf all seine Daten zugreifen, da diese in SharePoint Online gespeichert sind. Der Zugriff funktioniert über Standardfunktionen von Microsoft 365 wie die SharePoint-Volltextsuche, OneDrive for Business oder den Standard-SharePoint. Wenn ein einzelner Shareflex-Online-Dienst nicht verfügbar ist, reduziert sich der Funktionsumfang um die nicht verfügbaren Funktionen des jeweiligen Dienstes.

Die Portal Systems AG übernimmt im Lösungsbetrieb keine Sicherung der Kundendaten. Wenn eine Sicherung der in SharePoint Online gespeicherten Kundendaten notwendig ist, obliegt es dem Kunden, ein entsprechendes Backup- oder Restore-Konzept zu definieren.

Nach der Beendigung des SaaS-Vertrags mit der Portal Systems AG ist der Zugriff auf die Shareflex Online Services nicht mehr möglich. Die Shareflex-Lösung ist dann nicht mehr einsatzfähig.

Alle Daten bleiben beim Kunden

Da die Kundendaten im Microsoft-365-Mandanten bzw. in der SharePoint-Online-Umgebung des Kunden gespeichert werden, kann der Kunde auch nach Vertragsende auf diese Daten über Standardfunktionen von Microsoft 365 zugreifen.

Das Fundament der Shareflex Online Solutions sind die Microsoft-365-Dienste und die Shareflex Online Services. Für die Microsoft-365-Dienste und die Shareflex Online Services werden Updates automatisch bereitgestellt.

Ein Update der Shareflex Solution erfolgt durch ein Hochladen und Bereitstellen des Update-Paketes. Diese Aufgabe übernimmt in der Regel der Kunde selbstständig oder mithilfe eines Integrationspartners. Bei einem erforderlichen Update wird der Kunde mindestens 30 Tage vorher darüber informiert. Wird ein erforderliches Update nicht zeitgerecht ausgerollt, können wir die Funktionstüchtigkeit der Anwendung nicht mehr gewährleisten.

Um eine performante Ausführung zu gewährleisten, speichert Portal Systems einen Teil der Konfigurationsdaten einer Shareflex Solution in einer Microsoft Azure SQL-Datenbank. Dies betrifft beispielsweise die Geschäftsanwendungslogik, die im Hintergrund ausgeführt wird.

Die Shareflex Solutions sind konkrete Lösungen bzw. Anwendungen, während die Shareflex Online Services und Microsoft 365 die (für den Anwender unsichtbaren) Basisdienste dahinter bereitstellen.

Modell der Shareflex Online Services und Solutions

Grafische Darstellung des Zusammenhangs zwischen Microsoft 365 sowie den Shareflex Online Services und Solutions.

Die Portal Systems AG verwaltet die in Microsoft-Azure-Rechenzentren gehostete Infrastruktur (Infrastructure as a Service) für Shareflex Online. Dies umfasst u.a. (und nicht ausschließlich) die Verwaltung der Konfigurationsdaten, die Hochverfügbarkeit, die Wiederherstellung der Konfigurationsdaten sowie die Sicherheit und Skalierung (Details siehe Shareflex Online Services Plattformdienstbeschreibung). Die auf dieser Infrastruktur gehosteten Shareflex Online Services werden kontinuierlich überwacht. Darüber hinaus überwacht Portal Systems die Kernfunktionalität der Shareflex Online Solutions.

Kunden müssen insbesondere die Individualisierungen in der Shareflex Solution überwachen und Maßnahmen bei Vorfällen bzgl. der Performance und unvorhergesehenem Verhalten einleiten. Des Weiteren müssen sie das Daten- und Dokumentenwachstum sowie die Anzahl der Benutzer überwachen.

Da die Shareflex Solution in der Microsoft-365-Umgebung des Kunden bereitgestellt wird, sind sehr flexible Anpassungen und Individualisierungen möglich. Diese sind komplett getrennt und unabhängig von anderen Bereitstellungen in der gleichen Microsoft-365-Umgebung oder anderen Kunden.

Wir bieten Shareflex Online für Microsoft SharePoint Online an und setzen damit einen Microsoft- 365-Plan, der Microsoft SharePoint Online beinhaltet, voraus.

FAQ: Shareflex Classic Solutions


Hier finden Sie Antworten auf häufig gestellte Fragen zu unseren On-Premises-Lösungen für Microsoft SharePoint 2016 und 2019.

Portal Systems stellt Shareflex für Microsoft SharePoint 2016 und 2019 oder SharePoint Online und Microsoft Office 365 bereit. Entsprechend sind verschiedene Szenarien möglich: Entweder „On-Premises“, also auf eigenen, unternehmensinternen Servern oder „Online“ mit einem Microsoft-365-Plan, der SharePoint Online beinhaltet.

Shareflex erweitert Ihre SharePoint-Infrastruktur und macht diese benutzerfreundlicher und flexibler. Mit unseren ready2go-Geschäftsanwendungen (Shareflex Solutions) oder auf der Shareflex Platform basierenden Individuallösungen, erhalten Sie zudem äußerst sichere und effiziente Tools für die Digitalisierung Ihrer Geschäftsprozesse.

Die Shareflex Solutions sind unsere ready2go-Lösungen für das Vertragsmanagement, die Dokumentenlenkung im QM sowie die Eingangsrechnungsverarbeitung. Die Shareflex Extensions sind Erweiterungen und Partnerlösungen für unsere Lösungen, wie beispielsweise die Outlook-Integration oder die PDF-Generierung.

Mit Shareflex wird SharePoint zur Plattform für Geschäftsanwendungen

Die Shareflex Classic Solutions basieren auf der Shareflex Platform, der Business Application Platform von Portal Systems. Diese stellt die Infrastruktur und Hintergrundprozesse für die Software bereit.

Erst durch Shareflex wird SharePoint zu einer Plattform für Geschäftsanwendungen. Denn Shareflex baut auf SharePoint auf, erweitert es sinnvoll und maximiert so die Benutzerfreundlichkeit.

Um Shareflex zu konfigurieren und mit unseren Lösungen zu arbeiten, sind grundsätzlich keine expliziten Programmierkenntnisse notwendig.

Nein, nicht unbedingt. Eigene Server sind nur im On-Premises-Umfeld notwendig. Für die Shareflex Online Solutions bieten wir einen „dedicated“ oder „shared“ Service in der Cloud an.

Selbstverständlich! Denn mit Shareflex Online bieten wir Ihnen eine eigene Produktsuite für Microsoft Office 365 und SharePoint Online. Vom modernen, ganzheitlichen Enterprise Content Management System Shareflex ECM Online über fertige Lösungen, wie z.B. unser Vertragsmanagement Shareflex Contract Online, bis hin zu individuellen Unternehmenslösungen. Bei Interesse sprechen Sie uns gerne an!

Sofern die entsprechende SharePoint-Infrastruktur und ein Hosting-Modell vorhanden sind, ja.

Im Prinzip lassen sich mit Shareflex alle denkbaren Anwendungen für Geschäftsprozesse konfigurieren. Wir bieten Ihnen vorkonfigurierte Lösungen für das Vertragsmanagement, die Verwaltung und Lenkung von QM-Dokumenten sowie die Eingangsrechnungsverarbeitung.

Volle Flexibilität mit Shareflex

All diese Lösungen lassen sich problemlos an Ihre firmenspezifischen Anforderungen anpassen. Und mithilfe der Shareflex Platform ist die Liste nahezu beliebig erweiterbar.

FAQ: Allgemein


Weitere Fragen und Antworten rund um den Themenkomplex „Dokumentenzentrierte Geschäftsprozesse“.

ECM steht für Enterprise Content Management. „Enterprise-Content-Management umfasst die Technologien zur Erfassung, Verwaltung, Speicherung, Bewahrung und Bereitstellung von Content und Dokumenten zur Unterstützung organisatorischer Prozesse“, so die Definition des internationalen Branchenverbandes AIIM (Association for Intelligent Information Management).

Mitarbeiter der Portal Systems AG

Sie haben Fragen? Unser Team ist für Sie da!

Tel. +49 40 226040 12
info@portalsystems.de

Das Chilehaus in Hamburg ist Hauptsitz der Portal Systems AG